Project Management Methodology Waterfall

Friday, 26 August 2016

This traditional methodology can be used across all industries, but it is the most common in the construction industry. It is also called the Waterfall Model, because it defines the sequence of phases to be completed, which resembles a waterfall.

This methodology divides the project management process into 7 consecutive phases:

  1. Requirements specification
  2. Design
  3. Construction (coding)
  4. Integration
  5. Validation (testing)
  6. Installation
  7. Maintenance

The project can only move to the next phase once the previous one has been completed and verified. This method is preferable for projects in which the outputs are physical objects (such as construction projects, hardware installation projects, etc.), as well as the projects in which tasks need to be completed in a specific sequence. Also, the project plans are re-usable for other projects in the future.

On the other hand, the waterfall model requires a significant amount of work to be invested in planning. It is generally estimated that 20-40% of the time for the total project is invested for the first two phases. Due to its structured approach, scope changes are very slow, which makes it unsuitable for projects where the client is not sure about what he or she wants.


Friday, 26 August 2016
0.0/5 rating (0 votes)


Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest. Optional login below.

Log in

Project Management Office

Call: +380 44 247 98 87

Log in

fb iconLog in with Facebook
create an account